Today in 2007 : India Defeated Pakistan in a Bowl-out at T20 World Cup | Watch Video | Full Scoreboard

Team India continue their winning journey against arch rivals Pakistan in the World Cups in a thrilling match. The inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup when held in South Africa in 2007.

The inaugural of the T20 internationals World Cup has many memories for Indian fans.

Because a inexperience captain MS Dhoni-led Team India defeated arch-rivals Pakistan through a bowl-out in a group stage match of the T20 World Cup, in Kingsmead, Durban.

When both the sides score the same amount of runs in allotted 20 overs

The match result was decided after a tense bowl-out.

The Men in Blue defeated Pakidtan 3-0.

Pakistan won the toss and restricted India to 141/9 runs after the end of 20 overs.

Captain MS Dhoni and Robin Uthappa are star with the bat after playing knocks of 33 and 50 runs each.

Mohammed Asif was the pick of the bowlers for Pakistan taken four wickets.

Pakistan’s chase never got a good start as the Indian bowling unit kept the hopes alive, by keeping a tight length and not allowing the pakistani batsman take control of the match.

Misbah-ul-Haq top score for Pakistan with 53 runs but he was dismissed in the final over and the match ends in a tie.

Similar as a penalty shoot-out in football this time the T20 format had bowl-out version in which sides make attempts at striking the wicket with no batsman in front of it.

Team India’s Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Robin Uthappa hit stumps.

And Pakistan’s Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul and Shahid Afridi missed the target which resulting a 3-0 victory for the Men in Blue.

Cricket fans witnessed another a remarkable achievement as the arch rivals.

Leading India for the first time MS Dhoni lastly took the side to the T20 World Cup winners in 2007.


Gautam Gambhir c & b Mohammad Asif032000.00
Virender Sehwag  b Mohammad Asif531010166.66
Robin Uthappa c Kamran Akmal b Sohail Tanvir50395242128.20
Yuvraj Singh c Shoaib Malik b Mohammad Asif1480025.00
Dinesh Karthik  b Mohammad Asif1191220122.22
MS Dhoni (c)(w)c Younis Khan b Yasir Arafat33314631106.45
Irfan Pathan  b Shahid Afridi20151102133.33
Harbhajan Singh  b Shahid Afridi1440025.00
Ajit Agarkar run out (Kamran Akmal)149920155.55
Sreesanth not out1320033.33
Extras(lb 2, w 3)5
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 7.05)141/9
Did not bat: RP Singh 
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Gautam Gambhir, 0.3 ov), 2-9 (Virender Sehwag, 2.1 ov), 3-19 (Yuvraj Singh, 4.1 ov), 4-36 (Dinesh Karthik, 6.4 ov), 5-82 (Robin Uthappa, 12.1 ov), 6-111 (Irfan Pathan, 15.6 ov), 7-123 (Harbhajan Singh, 17.1 ov), 8-138 (MS Dhoni, 19.1 ov), 9-141 (Ajit Agarkar, 20 ov)
Mohammad Asif401844.50173010
Umar Gul402706.75124010
Yasir Arafat403919.7592300
Sohail Tanvir401814.50111010
Shahid Afridi403729.2562200
Salman Butt c †Dhoni b Agarkar1725322068.00
Imran Nazir  b Singh78101087.50
Kamran Akmal (w)run out (Yuvraj Singh)15132511115.38
Younis Khan  b Pathan2850025.00
Shoaib Malik (c)c Harbhajan Singh b Pathan20182430111.11
Misbah-ul-Haq run out (Agarkar/Sreesanth)53354671151.42
Shahid Afridi c Karthik b Harbhajan Singh7990077.77
Yasir Arafat not out1251320240.00
Extras(lb 2, nb 1, w 5)8
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 7.05)141/7
Did not bat: Mohammad Asif, Umar Gul, Sohail Tanvir 
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Imran Nazir, 2.1 ov), 2-44 (Salman Butt, 7.2 ov), 3-47 (Kamran Akmal, 8.1 ov), 4-47 (Younis Khan, 8.5 ov), 5-87 (Shoaib Malik, 14.6 ov), 6-103 (Shahid Afridi, 17.4 ov), 7-141 (Misbah-ul-Haq, 20 ov)
RP Singh402315.75152130
Ajit Agarkar403518.7575000
Irfan Pathan412025.00143010
Harbhajan Singh403218.0062100
Kingsmead, Durban
TossPakistan, elected to field first
SeriesICC World Cup T20
Player Of The MatchMohammad Asif
Match days14 September 2007 – Night (20-over match)
UmpiresBilly Doctrove and Simon Taufel
TV UmpireSteve Davis
Reserve UmpireBrian Jerling
Match RefereeMike Procter
PointsIndia 2, Pakistan 0


Leave a Reply