17.1 C
    Monday, December 4, 2023

      World Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami put India Continue Unbeaten Run won By 100 Runs

      Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami put India on the cusp of semi-finals with Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami by their magical opening spells after Rohit Sharma’s 87 on a tough pitch as India beat England by 100 runs for their sixth straight win in the World Cup in Lucknow.

      The superb win would not have possible without the special effort of skipper Rohit Sharma’s 87 off 101 balls and Suryakumar Yadav’s 49 got runs in the death overs to put India to 229 runs.

      Mohammed Shami (4/22) and Jasprit Bumrah (3/32) star of the show with the ball for England batters as they bundled to 129 all out in 34.5 overs for their fifth loss in six games.

      England are virtually out of semifinal while India, the only unbeaten side in the tournament, are almost there to fix the seat.

      After first inning India need early wickets to put pressure on England batting unit.

      Jasprit Bumrah got rid of Dawid Malan (16) and Joe Root (0) off successive balls to be on a hat-trick while Mohammed Shami also did the same by got out Jonny Bairstow (14) and Ben Stokes (0).

      Ben Stokes want to make room to smash Mohammed Shami out of the field but got himself in a nothing position to see his stumps out of the root.

      Kuldeep Yadav dismiss skipper Jos Buttler (10) with a stunning ball that pitch way outside the off stump and turn back sharply to crash the stumps.

      ALSO READ  India-Sweden Healthcare Innovation Centre in Collaboration with AstraZeneca India Launched a Nurses’ Upskilling in NCDs (NUN) Program

      Mohammed Shami came back into the attack and had Moeen Ali (15) caught behind for his third wicket.

      As there was to much of dew on the park in the evening but it wasn’t an issue for the India bowlers.

      India got to bat first for the first time in the World Cup 2023.

      The 91-run partnership between Rohit Sharma and K L Rahul (39 off 58) stabilise the innings after India got themselves at 40 for three in the 12th over.

      Rohit Sharma also adds 33 runs with SKY but the captain got out.

      England were finally able to put together an effort excelling both with the ball and in the field.

      Chris Woakes (2/33) impress in his 7-over spell with the new ball and Adil Rashid (2/35) with David Willey (3/45) continue to collect wickets in the middle overs.

      After facing six dot balls in the first over of the game bowl by David Willey, the India skipper Rohit Sharma release the pressure by smashing the left-arm pacer for a couple of sixes and a four in his following over.

      Rohit Sharma use the feet both against the pacers and spinners to got the boundaries but Virat Kohli (0) and Shreyas Iyer (4) got out.

      Then stepping out the fast bowlers, Rohit Sharma display his class against the spin of Adil Rashid, Liam Livingstone and Moeen Ali.

      Rohit Sharma swept Adil Rashid, reverse-swept on Liam Livingstone and came down the track to loft Moeen Ali over mid-off for three of the 10 fours he score.

      ALSO READ  BCCI Wants 2011 World Cup-Winning Player To Be Next Chief Selector : Report

      Scoreboard of India vs England


      Rohit Sharma (C)c Livingstone b Rashid8710116210386.13
      Shubman Gill b Woakes913181069.23
      Virat Kohli c Stokes b Willey0912000.00
      Shreyas Iyer c Wood b Woakes416210025.00
      KL Rahul (WK)c Bairstow b Willey3958773067.24
      Suryakumar Yadav c Woakes b Willey49477541104.25
      Ravindra Jadeja lbw b Rashid813140061.53
      Mohammed Shami c Buttler b Wood1540020.00
      Jasprit Bumrah run out (Buttler)1625441064.00
      Kuldeep Yadav not out913181069.23
      Extras(b 4, w 3)7
      TOTAL50 Ov (RR: 4.58)229/9
      Did not bat: Mohammed Siraj 
      Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Shubman Gill, 3.6 ov), 2-27 (Virat Kohli, 6.5 ov), 3-40 (Shreyas Iyer, 11.5 ov), 4-131 (KL Rahul, 30.2 ov), 5-164 (Rohit Sharma, 36.5 ov), 6-182 (Ravindra Jadeja, 40.3 ov), 7-183 (Mohammed Shami, 41.2 ov), 8-208 (Suryakumar Yadav, 46.2 ov), 9-229 (Jasprit Bumrah, 49.6 ov)
      David Willey1024534.5039420
      Chris Woakes913323.6636301
      Adil Rashid1003523.5035300
      Mark Wood914615.1132322
      Liam Livingstone412907.2513500
      Moeen Ali803704.6219200


      Jonny Bairstow b Mohammed Shami1423532060.86
      Dawid Malan b Bumrah1617252194.11
      Joe Root lbw b Bumrah012000.00
      Ben Stokes b Mohammed Shami01014000.00
      Jos Buttler (C)(WK)b Kuldeep Yadav1023331043.47
      Moeen Ali c Rahul b Mohammed Shami1531550048.38
      Liam Livingstone lbw b Kuldeep Yadav2746562058.69
      Chris Woakes st Rahul b Jadeja1020211050.00
      David Willey not out1617290294.11
      Adil Rashid b Mohammed Shami1320192065.00
      Mark Wood b Bumrah013000.00
      Extras(lb 2, w 6)8
      TOTAL34.5 Ov (RR: 3.70)129
      Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Dawid Malan, 4.5 ov), 2-30 (Joe Root, 4.6 ov), 3-33 (Ben Stokes, 7.6 ov), 4-39 (Jonny Bairstow, 9.1 ov), 5-52 (Jos Buttler, 15.1 ov), 6-81 (Moeen Ali, 23.1 ov), 7-98 (Chris Woakes, 28.1 ov), 8-98 (Liam Livingstone, 29.2 ov), 9-122 (Adil Rashid, 33.6 ov), 10-129 (Mark Wood, 34.5 ov)
      Jasprit Bumrah6.513234.6831322
      Mohammed Siraj603305.5022312
      Mohammed Shami722243.1433302
      Kuldeep Yadav802423.0028100
      Ravindra Jadeja711612.2827000

      Related Articles


      Please enter your comment!
      Please enter your name here

      Stay Connected

      - Advertisement -

      Latest Articles