15.1 C
    Sunday, February 25, 2024

      ICC T20 World Cup 2024 : Full List of 20 Teams | Dominica Pulls Out of Hosting ICC Event | Details Inside

      The 20-teams group for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 got finalise when Uganda create history by securing their maiden qualification for the big-ticket tournament in the game’s shortest format.

      Uganda and table-toppers Namibia are the two teams that came through the Africa qualifier event, which meant Test nation Zimbabwe miss out on qualification.

      As USA will host a top-tier ICC event for the first time, with the West Indies joining them as the co-hosts.

      Also it will be the first occasion when a T20 World Cup will see as many as 20 teams competing

      Full List of 20 Teams of T20 World Cup 2024 :

      1. Afghanistan,
      2. Australia,
      3. Bangladesh,
      4. Canada,
      5. England,
      6. India,
      7. Ireland,
      8. Namibia,
      9. Nepal,
      10. Netherlands,
      11. New Zealand,
      12. Oman,
      13. Pakistan,
      14. Papua New Guinea,
      15. Scotland,
      16. South Africa,
      17. Sri Lanka,
      18. West Indies,
      19. Uganda,
      20. USA

      Above list includes the two hosts, teams finishing in the top eight at the 2022 T20 World Cup, two next best on T20I rankings and the qualifiers from Americas (1), Asia (2), East Asia-Pacific (1), Europe (2) and Africa (2).

      Format of T20 World Cup 2024

      With 20 teams competing, the format will feature an initial group stage, involving four groups of five teams each.

      The top two from each group will progress to the ‘Super Eight’ stage.

      ALSO READ  Countries Named After People | Check the List

      There will be two groups of four teams each in the ‘Super Eight’ phase of the tournament.

      The top two teams from both the groups will qualify for the semi-finals, follow by the final.

      Dominica pulls out of hosting ICC T20 World Cup 2024 matches

      Dominica will be unable to meet the deadline for completing stadium development and the government said that it will withdraw from hosting their assign T20 World Cup 2024 matches.

      As Dominica was one of seven Caribbean countries consider to host the T20 World Cup, and Windsor Park was chosen to host one group match and two Super Eight games. 

      Dominica were recommend as one of the hosts for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, which will be held in the West Indies and the United States in June 2024.

      As per statement from the Dominica government :

      "Several tangible actions were taken both at the Windsor Park Sports Stadium and at the Benjamin's Park including the commencement of upgrading and enhancement of the practice and match venues, various assessments and the creation of additional pitches where necessary,".
      "However, the implementation timelines submitted by the various contractors revealed that it would not be possible to complete these works within the stipulated timeframe before the commencement of the tournament. As a result, a decision was taken not to host any of the matches in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 as it would not be prudent for the Government of Dominica to commit to hosting these games. In light of Dominica's sterling reputation in hosting international cricket, this decision is considered to be in the best interest of all. The Government of Dominica thanks Cricket West Indies (CWI) for its partnership over the years and looks forward to continued collaboration in the future. The Government of Dominica extends best wishes to the organisers for a successful tournament in June 2024." 

      As ICC is yet to respond to this development.

      ALSO READ  Is BCCI Planning To Move IPL 2024 Out Of India Due To THESE Reasons | Answer Inside

      Related Articles


      Please enter your comment!
      Please enter your name here

      Stay Connected

      - Advertisement -

      Latest Articles