31.7 C
    Saturday, April 20, 2024

      MS Dhoni hands over Captaincy to Ruturaj Gaikwad Ahead Of IPL 2024

      Ruturaj Gaikwad replace MS Dhoni as the Captain of Chennai Super Kings ahead of IPL 2024. This announcement came after Ruturaj Gaikwad attend the captains meeting ahead of this year’s competition in Chennai.

      MS Dhoni was the captain of CSK since the inaugural season of IPL and he has won the title five times.

      Ruturaj Gaikwad, who has play 6 ODIs and 19 T20s for India, made his CSK debut in 2020 and has gone on to represent the 5 time IPL champions in 52 games.

      He had a memorable run in 2023, aggregating 590 runs in 16 games at an impressive strike rate of 147.50.

      MS Dhoni has led CSK to 5 IPL titles in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021 and 2023.

      MSD has also led CSK to two CLT20 titles in 2010 and 2014.

      He has play 250 IPL matches, mostly for CSK, other than a stint with Rising Pune Supergiant from 2016 to 2017.

      In these matches, he has score 5,082 runs at an average of 38.79.

      MSD has also score 24 half-centuries in the tournament.

      MS Dhoni also has 142 catches and 42 stumpings.

      CSK will face Royal Challengers Bengaluru in the IPL 2024 in Chennai on 22nd March 2024.

      CSK said in a statement on their website :

      "MS Dhoni has handed over Chennai Super Kings' captaincy to Ruturaj Gaikwad ahead of the start of IPL 2024. Ruturaj has been an integral part of Chennai Super Kings since 2019 and has played 52 matches in IPL during this period. The team looks forward to the upcoming season,".

      In a post on X, the Indian Premier League reveal the development, a day before CSK take on Royal Challengers Bengaluru.

      CSK Squad for IPL 2024

      • MS Dhoni,
      • Ruturaj Gaikwad (C)
      • Moeen Ali,
      • Deepak Chahar,
      • Tushar Deshpande,
      • Shivam Dube,
      • Rajvardhan Hangargekar,
      • Ravindra Jadeja,
      • Ajay Mandal,
      • Mukesh Choudhary,
      • Ajinkya Rahane,
      • Shaik Rasheed,
      • Mitchell Santner,
      • Simarjeet Singh,
      • Nishant Sindhu,
      • Prashant Solanki,
      • Maheesh Theekshana,
      • Rachin Ravindra,
      • Shardul Thakur,
      • Daryl Mitchell,
      • Sameer Rizvi,
      • Mustafizur Rahman,
      • Avanish Rao Aravelly.
      ALSO READ  Indian Veteran Premier League : Time | Date | Teams | Telecast | Live Streaming | Details Inside

      MS Dhoni is expect to retire at the end of this season and therefore the franchise felt the need for a smooth transition in MSD’s presence as a player.

      The successor of MS Dhoni has always been a topic of discussion ever since the legendary cricketer announce his international retirement in August 2020.

      Related Articles


      Please enter your comment!
      Please enter your name here

      Stay Connected

      - Advertisement -

      Latest Articles