36.1 C
    Monday, May 27, 2024

      Did Team India Qualify and Which Top Teams Of ODI World Cup 2023 Will Qualify For ICC Champions Trophy 2025

      At ICC World Cup 2023 India beat England by 100 runs one of the most pressing questions on everyone’s mind is, “Did Team India qualify for the semifinals?”

      Team India performance in the World Cup 2023 has nothing short of spectacular.

      Men in Blue have shown remarkable consistency and have secure their spot in the semifinals with six wins in as many matches.

      India’s unbeaten streak is a testament to their solid team effort, clinical batting performances, and exceptional bowling displays.

      Their dominance on the points table with 12 points is a clear indicator of their intention to clinch the World Cup for the third time.

      With a remarkable net run rate of +1.405, they are undoubtedly one of the favourites to win the tournament.

      England’s campaign in the World Cup 2023 has nothing short of disastrous, and their current position on the points table reflects their struggles.

      With 2 points from one win and five losses in six matches, England finds themselves at the bottom of the table.

      Their net run rate of -1.652.

      The defending champions have outclass by their opponents, and their chances of reaching the semifinals are virtually non-existent.

      SOUTH AFRICA65100102.032
      NEW ZEALAND6420081.232
      SRI LANKA523004-0.205

      While the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 progresses, the top seven sides at the end of the league stage of the ongoing ODI World Cup 2023 in India will qualify for the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy with hosts Pakistan, to compete in the eight-team event.

      ALSO READ  BCCI Top Officials to Sit with Virat Kohli as He's no Longer First Choice for T20 World Cup 2024 : Report

      The 2025 ICC Champions Trophy, which got approval from the ICC Board in 2021, is one of the eight men’s global tournaments that are schedule to be held in 2024-31.

      In November 2021, when ICC unveil 7 global events for both men and women in the 2023-24 cycle including the 2025 and 2029 editions of the ICC Champions Trophy.

      ICC issue a statement announcing :

      “There would be an eight-team event and the tournament structure will follow previous editions with two groups of four, semi-finals and final.”

      The selection process also means that other Full Member nations like West Indies, Zimbabwe and Ireland will not even have the opportunity to qualify for the 2025 Champions Trophy, since they didn’t qualify for the 2023 ODI World Cup.

      But many cricket boards also confirm that being unaware of the selection process they miss making it to the ODI World Cup.

      The talk around ICC Champions Trophy qualification erupt after Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan made comments referencing the Champions Trophy in a press conference, which indicate that he was at least aware that qualification was at stake.

      The 2013 and 2017 editions of the Champions Trophy saw the top eight teams in the ODI rankings qualify for the event.

      It is understood that the decision to have the top 7 teams at this World Cup for the 2025 Champions Trophy was approve originally by the ICC’s chief executives committee following which the ICC Board pass the recommendation.

      Related Articles


      Please enter your comment!
      Please enter your name here

      Stay Connected

      - Advertisement -

      Latest Articles