24.1 C
    Wednesday, April 24, 2024

      BCCI Announced India’s ODI World Cup 2023 Squad | Details Inside

      Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selection panel head by Ajit Agarkar, on 5th September 2023, announce a 15-member squad for ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023. The team management pick four all-rounders, four bowlers and seven batters for the mega event ODI World Cup 2023.

      Youngster Tilak Varma, pacer Prasidh Krishna and wicketkeeper-batter Sanju Samson are the three big names missing from India’s ICC ODI World Cup 2023 official squad.

      Rohit Sharma-led side will be having star all-rounder Hardik Pandya as the vice captain.

      India’s ODI World Cup 2023 squad announcement was delay as BCCI was waiting for a final fitness update on KL Rahul from Bengaluru’s National Cricket Academy (NCA).

      KL Rahul, India’s first-choice wicketkeeper at present, is fit and has completely recover.

      Rohit Sharma Said :

      “There are players who are going to miss but that happens every World Cup. There are no surprises over there,”.

      It was expect that BCCI would also announce India’s squad for India vs Australia three-match ODI series, schedule to take place in India from 22nd to 27th September 2023, but it seems like fans have to wait a little more longer. 

      The ODI World Cup 2023 is a huge opportunity for hosts India to win an ICC trophy after a long 22 year gap.

      ALSO READ  Twitter Announced Most Retweeted, Liked Tweets of 2021 in India

      India hasn’t won any ICC trophy since 2013.

      Rohit Sharma-led India will begin their ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 campaign with a match against five-time winners Australia on 8th October 2023 at Chennai’s MA Chidambaram stadium.

      The hosts then take on Afghanistan next on 9th October 2023 follow by a blockbuster mega-clash against arch-rivals Pakistan at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi stadium on 14th October 2023.

      Full List of India’s ODI World Cup 2023 Squad

      1. Rohit Sharma (Captain),
      2. Shubman Gill,
      3. Virat Kohli,
      4. Shreyas Iyer,
      5. Ishan Kishan,
      6. KL Rahul,
      7. Hardik Pandya (Vice-Captain),
      8. Suryakumar Yadav,
      9. Ravindra Jadeja,
      10. Axar Patel,
      11. Shardul Thakur,
      12. Jasprit Bumrah,
      13. Mohd. Shami,
      14. Mohd. Siraj,
      15. Kuldeep Yadav

      While most teams have promptly finalise their 15-member squads, Team India chose to maintain suspense until the eleventh hour.

      Moreover, history will be made this time, as India will host the entire tournament for the very first time, adding further weight to the stakes.

      After enduring a year fill with injuries and intermittent struggles, India finally boasts a squad of players who are free from the clutches of injury.

      The stage is set, and the anticipation is palpable as India prepares to embark on this historic journey.

      Related Articles


      Please enter your comment!
      Please enter your name here

      Stay Connected

      - Advertisement -

      Latest Articles