15.1 C
    Sunday, February 25, 2024

      Down Memory Lane : Ajinkya Rahane’s India Breach Gabba Fortress to Win Successive Test Series in Australia

      Back in 2021, 19th January, India beat Australia for the first time in a Test match at the Gabba in Brisbane. With this win the series level at 1-1, the visitors had a tough task as Australia have always dominate at the venue in Brisbane.

      But, Team India, led by Ajinkya Rahane, defied the odds to come up trumps and won by three wickets.

      After batting first, Australia score 369 in 115.2 overs on the back of Marnus Labuschagne’s knock of 108.

      While Captain Tim Paine also score 50 and Steve Smith, Matthew Wade and Cameron Green score 36, 45 and 47 respectively.

      T Natarajan, Shardul Thakur and Washington Sundar pick up three wickets each.

      India conced a slender, yet crucial lead of 33 runs after being bowl out for 336 in 111.4 overs.

      Washington Sundar and Shardul Thakur made 62 and 67 respectively to help India recover from 186 for six.

      Both put on 123 runs for the 7th wicket partnership.

      Josh Hazlewood has pick up 5 wickets for 57 runs in 24.4 overs.

      Australia score 294 runs in their second innings and set India a target of 328 to chase.

      Steve Smith score 55 and was the top-scorer for the Aussies.

      Mohammed Siraj pick up 5 wickets while Shardul Thakur got 4.

      Then, India chase down the target in 97 overs to make history.

      They lost the early wicket of Rohit Sharma in their run-chase, but Shubman Gill steadied the ship with a knock of 91, with 8 fours and 2 sixes.

      ALSO READ  Cryptocurrency Bill Withheld from Parliament, as per Reports Citing Sources Say

      Cheteshwar Pujara made 56 runs off 211 balls to hold one end up.

      Then it was the turn of Rishabh Pant to show his masterclass.

      He stayed unbeaten on 89 runs off 138 balls as India went past the finish line in the 3rd and final session of the 5th day’s play.

      Full Scorecard

      Australia 1st Innings 

      David Warner c Sharma b Mohammed Siraj1480025.00
      Marcus Harris c Washington Sundar b Thakur523390021.73
      Marnus Labuschagne c Pant b Natarajan1082042939052.94
      Steven Smith c Sharma b Washington Sundar36771125046.75
      Matthew Wade c Thakur b Natarajan45871316051.72
      Cameron Green b Washington Sundar471071716043.92
      Tim Paine (c)(wk)c Sharma b Thakur501041496048.07
      Pat Cummins lbw b Thakur28140025.00
      Mitchell Starc not out2035600157.14
      Nathan Lyon b Washington Sundar24222640109.09
      Josh Hazlewood b Natarajan1127262040.74
      Extras(b 4, lb 5, nb 6, w 5)20
      TOTAL115.2 Ov (RR: 3.19, 517 Mins)369
      Fall of wickets: 1-4 (David Warner, 0.6 ov), 2-17 (Marcus Harris, 8.1 ov), 3-87 (Steven Smith, 34.1 ov), 4-200 (Matthew Wade, 63.4 ov), 5-213 (Marnus Labuschagne, 65.5 ov), 6-311 (Tim Paine, 99.2 ov), 7-313 (Cameron Green, 100.5 ov), 8-315 (Pat Cummins, 101.4 ov), 9-354 (Nathan Lyon, 108.2 ov), 10-369 (Josh Hazlewood, 115.2 ov)
      Mohammed Siraj28107712.7510
      T Natarajan24.237833.2006
      Shardul Thakur2469433.9100
      Navdeep Saini7.522102.6800
      Washington Sundar3168932.8700
      Rohit Sharma0.10106.0000

      India 1st Innings 

      Rohit Sharma c Starc b Lyon4474906059.45
      Shubman Gill c Smith b Cummins715271046.66
      Cheteshwar Pujara c †Paine b Hazlewood25941452026.59
      Ajinkya Rahane (c)c Wade b Starc37931543039.78
      Mayank Agarwal c Smith b Hazlewood3875913150.66
      Rishabh Pant (wk)c Green b Hazlewood2329492079.31
      Washington Sundar c Green b Starc621442227143.05
      Shardul Thakur b Cummins671151549258.26
      Navdeep Saini c Smith b Hazlewood514301035.71
      Mohammed Siraj b Hazlewood13102220130.00
      T Natarajan not out19150011.11
      Extras(b 5, lb 7, nb 2)14
      TOTAL111.4 Ov (RR: 3.00, 504 Mins)336
      Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Shubman Gill, 6.2 ov), 2-60 (Rohit Sharma, 19.5 ov), 3-105 (Cheteshwar Pujara, 38.5 ov), 4-144 (Ajinkya Rahane, 54.6 ov), 5-161 (Mayank Agarwal, 60.2 ov), 6-186 (Rishabh Pant, 66.3 ov), 7-309 (Shardul Thakur, 102.3 ov), 8-320 (Navdeep Saini, 107.4 ov), 9-328 (Washington Sundar, 108.5 ov), 10-336 (Mohammed Siraj, 111.4 ov)
      Mitchell Starc2338823.8200
      Josh Hazlewood24.465752.3102
      Pat Cummins2759423.4800
      Cameron Green812002.5000
      Nathan Lyon2896512.3200
      Marnus Labuschagne11000.0000

      Australia 2nd Innings 

      Marcus Harris c Pant b Thakur3882948046.34
      David Warner lbw b Washington Sundar48751036064.00
      Marnus Labuschagne c Sharma b Mohammed Siraj25222850113.63
      Steven Smith c Rahane b Mohammed Siraj55741217074.32
      Matthew Wade c Pant b Mohammed Siraj033000.00
      Cameron Green c Sharma b Thakur37901303041.11
      Tim Paine (c)(wk)c Pant b Thakur2737523072.97
      Pat Cummins not out2851762154.90
      Mitchell Starc c Saini b Mohammed Siraj14130025.00
      Nathan Lyon c Agarwal b Thakur13102401130.00
      Josh Hazlewood c Thakur b Mohammed Siraj911172081.81
      Extras(b 5, lb 2, nb 4, w 2)13
      TOTAL75.5 Ov (RR: 3.87, 335 Mins)294
      Fall of wickets: 1-89 (Marcus Harris, 24.6 ov), 2-91 (David Warner, 25.6 ov), 3-123 (Marnus Labuschagne, 30.3 ov), 4-123 (Matthew Wade, 30.6 ov), 5-196 (Steven Smith, 54.2 ov), 6-227 (Cameron Green, 60.5 ov), 7-242 (Tim Paine, 64.6 ov), 8-247 (Mitchell Starc, 67.3 ov), 9-274 (Nathan Lyon, 72.1 ov), 10-294 (Josh Hazlewood, 75.5 ov)
      Mohammed Siraj19.557353.6810
      T Natarajan1444102.9202
      Washington Sundar1818014.4400
      Shardul Thakur1926143.2111
      Navdeep Saini513206.4001

      India 2nd Innings 

      (Target: 328 runs)

      ALSO READ  Yuvraj Singh Want to Mentor Indian Cricket Team in ICC Events | Details Inside
      Rohit Sharma c Paine b Cummins721341033.33
      Shubman Gill c Smith b Lyon911462088262.32
      Cheteshwar Pujara lbw b Cummins562113147026.54
      Ajinkya Rahane (c)c Paine b Cummins24224411109.09
      Rishabh Pant (wk)not out891381819164.49
      Mayank Agarwal c Wade b Cummins915331060.00
      Washington Sundar b Lyon2229412175.86
      Shardul Thakur c Lyon b Hazlewood2350066.66
      Navdeep Saini not out00300
      Extras(b 18, lb 8, nb 3)29
      TOTAL97 Ov (RR: 3.39, 435 Mins)329/7
      Did not bat: Mohammed Siraj, T Natarajan 
      Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Rohit Sharma, 8.2 ov), 2-132 (Shubman Gill, 47.6 ov), 3-167 (Ajinkya Rahane, 56.5 ov), 4-228 (Cheteshwar Pujara, 80.2 ov), 5-265 (Mayank Agarwal, 86.4 ov), 6-318 (Washington Sundar, 95.5 ov), 7-325 (Shardul Thakur, 96.4 ov)
      Mitchell Starc1607504.6801
      Josh Hazlewood2257413.3601
      Pat Cummins24105542.2901
      Cameron Green311003.3300
      Nathan Lyon3178522.7400
      Marnus Labuschagne10404.0000

      Related Articles


      Please enter your comment!
      Please enter your name here

      Stay Connected

      - Advertisement -

      Latest Articles