Home tech how to Cricket Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017 shop more
How Cyclones Are Named | Cyclone Tauktae Named After Gecko | 2YODOINDIA

How Cyclones Are Named | Cyclone Tauktae Named After Gecko

The deep disturbance over the Arabian Sea has become stronger into cyclonic storm ‘Tauktae’ and is likely to cross the Gujarat coast between Porbandar and Naliya. The India Meteorological Department (IMD) said Tauktae will be a very severe cyclonic storm from 16th to 18th May 2021.

Tauktae is very likely to become into a severe cyclonic storm during the next six hours and into a severe cyclonic storm during the subsequent 12 hours.

How The Cyclone Was Named Tauktae?

Tauktae name has given by Myanmar “gecko” meaning a highly vocal lizard in Burmese.

Tauktae is going to be the first cyclonic storm of this year along the Indian coast.

How Cyclones Are Named?

Tropical cyclones are officially name by one of its warning centres spread across the globe under the aegis of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO).

Tropical cyclones can last for a week and more but there can be more than one cyclone at a time.

Cyclones names are given to the storms so that forecasters avoid confusion.

Tropical cyclones are name according to the rules at regional level.

In the Indian ocean and South Pacific region the tropical cyclones receive names alphabetically and women and men’s names are alternate.

Nations in the Northern Indian ocean began using a new system for naming tropical cyclones in 2000.

The names are list alphabetically country wise and also neutral gender wise.

Rule is that the name list is propose by the National Meteorological and Hydrological Services (NMHSs) of WMO Members of a specific region and also approve by the respective tropical cyclone regional bodies at their annual/biennual sessions.

ALSO READ  Weather Alert : IMD Predicts Rainfall in Some States till 14th October 2021

The WMO/United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (WMO/ESCAP) Panel on Tropical Cyclones (PTC) has members from 13 countries which decide the name of the cyclone.

Countries includes :
  • India,
  • Bangladesh,
  • Myanmar,
  • Pakistan,
  • Maldives,
  • Oman,
  • Sri Lanka,
  • Thailand,
  • Iran,
  • Qatar,
  • Saudi Arabia,
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Yemen.

This panel had eight members in 2004 and had finalised a list of 64 names.

Eight names from each country.

Amphan for the cyclone that wreaked in India last year was the last name on that list.

The WMO/ESCAP committee expand the list of members in 2018 to include five more countries.

The new list was release that has 169 names of cyclones and a compilation of 13 suggestions each from 13 countries.

If any storm causes a large number of deaths or damages any member of the WMO’s hurricane, typhoon and tropical cyclone committees can request the withdrawal of the cyclone’s name from the naming list.

A new name is then submit to the committee concerned and voted.


Share your love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.