31.7 C
    Saturday, April 20, 2024

      What is ICC’s New Stop-Clock Rule | Answer Inside

      International Cricket Council (ICC) have officially mandate the use of stop-clocks in between overs in international white-ball matches. This announcement by ICC reveal that the new rule will become a permanent mandate in both ODIs and T20Is, starting from June 2024 in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

      What is Stop-Clock Rule?

      This rule involves an electronic clock that’s display on the ground which counts down from 60 to 0 and the call remains with the third-umpire as to when to begin the timer.

      If the fielding side fails to be ready to bowl their next over within the time limit, the side will be given a warning.

      After two warnings, any subsequent violations will lead to a five-run penalty each.

      But, there are also instances where the clock, if start, can be cancel in certain situations.

      Which includes :

      • When a new batter comes to the wicket between overs.
      • An official drinks interval has been called.
      • The umpires have approve the on-field treatment of an injury to a batter or fielder.
      • The time lost is for any circumstances beyond the control of the fielding side.

      As per the ICC, the results present when the rule was implement during a trial basis had shown that approximately 20 minutes had save per ODI match.

      This trial period had start back in December 2023.

      Other Decision taken by ICC

      It was also confirm during the meetings that ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 would have reserve days schedule for the semi-finals and final. 

      ALSO READ  ICC T20 World Cup 2024 : Full List of 20 Teams | Dominica Pulls Out of Hosting ICC Event | Details Inside

      Also a minimum of 5 overs will need to be bowl to the team batting second to constitute a game in the group stages and the Super Eight stages.

      But, in the knockout stage, a minimum of 10 overs need to be bowl in the second innings to constitute a match.

      The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2026 qualification process has also approve. 

      The 20-team tournament will be co-host by India and Sri Lanka, and will have a total of 12 automatic qualifiers. 

      The top eight teams in the 2024 edition will join India and Sri Lanka as automatic qualifiers, with the remaining spots between 2 and 4, depending on host finishing positions taken up by the next best-rank sides in the ICC Men’s T20I rankings table as of 30th June 2024.

      The remaining 8 positions will be fill via the Regional Qualifiers.

      While this year’s T20 World Cup will begin on 2nd June 2024 with the first game taking place between the United States and Canada.

      India will play their tournament opener against Ireland on 5th June 2024 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in East Meadow, New York.

      England, the defending champions will begin their tournament against Scotland on 4th June 2024 at the Kensington Oval in Barbados.

      The implementation of this new rule will be aim to put a stop to the slow over rates which have consider as a major disturbing element in the white-ball format.

      Related Articles


      Please enter your comment!
      Please enter your name here

      Stay Connected

      - Advertisement -

      Latest Articles